Absence

We expect student to attend College every day that they have lessons, and attend their academic review appointments. They should be in College on time to attend all registration periods and be punctual for all lessons. In some very exceptional circumstances, as described below, absence will be authorised but students should not take holidays during term time, should seek medical appointments outside of College hours and parents should provide written explanations for any absences that their children may have, Our target for attendance is 97% or higher.

Exceptional Circumstances to Authorise Absence:

  • Genuine illness
  • Medical appointments (routine medical/dental check-ups should be made out of school hours whenever possible). Your child is expected to attend school before and/or after the appointment (evidence of appointment is required)
  • Days of religious observance (you'll need authorisation from the school at least four weeks before the event)
  • Transport that wasn't provided by the Local Authority when it should have been
  • Unavoidable cause
  • A specified, limited period for an immediate family member's bereavement, crisis or serious illness
  • A funeral of an immediate family member
  • A specified, limited period for children of service personnel about to go on deployment (evidence is required)
  • A one off sporting events/performing arts competitions if your child is participating and is at county standard or above (evidence is required)

Absence should not be authorised for reasons such as:

  • Caring for other family members
  • Birthdays
  • To interpret for family members
  • Having no school uniform
  • Having no school shoes
  • Bullying
  • Friendship problems
  • Head lice or nits
  • Learning difficulties
  • Family holiday
  • Weddings abroad (even if it's immediate family)
  • Family anniversaries
  • Death of a pet
  • Travel problems
  • Attending immigration interviews with parents or guardian
  • Moving house
  • School refusal
  • Lateness after the school's registration period ends (Sir John Hunt registers close at 09:00)

Key contacts for absence

Mr Michael Carpenter Senior Leader with Responsibility for Attendance m.carpenter@sjhcsc.co.uk


Mrs Jackie Budd Educational Welfare Officer j.budd@sjhcsc.co.uk
Miss Siân Richardson Attendance Officer attendanceofficer@sjhcsc.co.uk

 
Mr Jason Beynon Year 11 Pastoral Leader j.beynon@sjhcsc.co.uk
Mrs Nicki Davies Year 11 Inclusion Lead n.davies@sjhcsc.co.uk

Mr Lewis Kershaw Year 10 Pastoral Leader l.kershaw@sjhcsc.co.uk
Mr Sean Walton Year 10 (& 7) Inclusion Lead s.walton@sjhcsc.co.uk

Mr Nathan Holliday Year 9 Pastoral Leader n.holliday@sjhcsc.co.uk
Mrs Christina Couling Year 9 (& 8) Inclusion Lead c.couling@sjhcsc.co.uk

Mr Liam Salter Year 8 Pastoral Leader l.salter@sjhcsc.co.uk
Mrs Christina Couling Year 8 (& 9) Inclusion Lead c.couling@sjhcsc.co.uk

Miss Luisa Warring Year 7 Pastoral Leader l.warring@sjhcsc.co.uk
Mr Sean Walton Year 7 (& 10) Inclusion Lead s.walton@sjhcsc.co.uk

Sources of further support

To support parents/carers and their families we have included a number of useful frequently asked questions/links/resources/policies below. If you can't find what you are looking for please do not hesitate to get in touch.

RELATED KEYWORDS: